On Campus

Grad Awards presented

Class of 2016 establishes the Chris Metallic Prize in Indigenous Leadership

The annual Grad Awards, recognizing academic, extracurricular, and community achievements, were presented at the Class of 2016’s Last Lecture on March 23.  Guest speakers included English professor Dr. Robert Lapp and Dr. Sandy MacIver (’74), director of the Ron Joyce Centre for Business Studies. Students from several disciplines were recognized for their accomplishments with departmental awards and leadership certificates also being presented.

The event included a significant announcement from the graduating class. This year’s graduates have established the Chris Metallic Prize in Indigenous Leadership at Mount Allison.

Named in honour of Chris Metallic, a Mount Allison student who went missing in 2012, the prize will be awarded annually to a student who makes the greatest contribution to the indigenization of campus that year.

Photo captions: Top image, Class of 2016 major award winners (l-r) (back row): Ben Holmes (Don Norton Award); Amanda Rundle (Gil Latter Award); Hilary Drake (Charlie Hunter Award); Diya Zhu (Barritt-Marshall Award). Front row: Molly Chase (Gold A); Brent Wallace (Gold A); and Piper Riley Thompson (Gold A). Missing from the photo: Emma Bass (Gold A) and Hannah Stegen (Francis S. Allison Award).

Right image, (l-r): Mount Allison student Spencer Isaac (Chris’s brother) and his mother Mandy Metallic, Grad Class executive member Sarah Donaldson, and Mount Allison’s Indigenous affairs co-ordinator,  Doreen Richard (’96) announce the establishment of the Chris Metallic Prize in Indigenous Leadership as the Class of 2016’s grad gift.