Mount Allison Athletics honours top student-athletes

28 Mar 2024

SACKVILLE, NB — Mount Allison University Athletics honoured its top student-athletes at the annual Night of the Mounties on Thursday, March 28. 
“I’m so pleased to have had the opportunity to celebrate Mountie Pride and all the wonderful accomplishments of our student-athletes at the end of another great season. I want to thank all our teams for being such great ambassadors for Mounties Athletics and the University as a whole,” says Director of Athletics and Recreation Jacques Bellefleur.


  • Volleyball Mountie Emma Burns from Fredericton, NB was named the female athlete of the year
  • Swimming Mountie Sebastian Cariaga from Calgary, AB was named the male athlete of the year


  • Women’s Scholar Athlete Award was Swimming Mountie Sarah Dessureault from Dartmouth, NS
  • Men’s Scholar Athlete Award was Football Mountie Justin Vogels from Sackville, NB

This award goes to a graduating senior student in a recognized undergraduate degree program who has been a varsity athlete at Mount Allison for a minimum of two years. He/she must have shown extraordinary accomplishments both academically and athletically. 


  • Outstanding Senior Male Athlete was Football Mountie Vincenzo Frangione from Ottawa, ON
  • Outstanding Senior Female Athlete was Hockey Mountie Tallon Stephenson from Lloydminster, AB  

The Men’s Outstanding Senior award is the Gus MacFarlane Trophy, which is given to the senior athlete who best exemplifies what a Mount Allison athlete should be.

The Joy Taylor Memorial was established in 1973 to remember Miss Joy Taylor, a former Director of Women’s Athletics at Mount Allison who was killed in a car accident. This award goes to a student in the senior class who has contributed to athletics in an outstanding manner throughout her athletic career at Mount A and is a candidate for a first degree. Also taken into consideration is her attitude toward competition and sportsmanship. 


Overall University Rookie of the Year honours went to:

  • Swimming Mountie Allison Gauthier from Brandon, MB
  • Badminton Mountie Mike Ta from Hanoi, VN

Awarded to students who contribute the most to their teams in their first year of university competition. 
The women’s sportsmanship award was presented to:

  • Volleyball Mountie Logan Tait from Saint John, NB

In 1983, this award was established as a memorial to Miss Virginia Anne (Gigi) Hicks, a graduate of the Class of ’81. Gigi displayed the qualities that this award represents. In the selection, the committee should consider the student’s dedication to the sport primarily, but also give serious consideration to the athlete’s attitude toward competition, degree of improvement, and her continuous contribution to the team. 
The men’s sportsmanship award was presented to:

  • Badminton Mountie Ben Broadbent from Lynden, ON  

The Men’s Sportsmanship award was donated by the Paikin family in the name of G. Harvey Gilmour. It is awarded to an individual who puts his heart and soul into practices and games while positively contributing to his team in every way. 
Winning the prestigious Bubsy Grant Award was Wallie Sears (‘46) from Sackville, NB. A prominent and much decorated local journalist and columnist, Wallie passed away on February 22, 2024, at the age of 95. He was an unwavering supporter of the Mounties. He also received the prestigious Charles F. Allison Award in 1990 for his outstanding contributions to Mount Allison. 
The Bubsy Grant Award was established in honour of Alexander Grant (Bubsy), a dedicated employee for 36 years at the Mount Allison Athletic Centre. The award is presented to a deserving individual who has, through time and effort, made a significant contribution to Mount Allison Athletics. 

  • Men’s team manager of the year was presented to: Noah Lenehan from Woodstock, NB (basketball)
  • Women’s team manager of the year was presented to: Chelsea Ansems from Dartmouth, NS (hockey)  

The men’s Award of Merit Trophy was donated by the late Gus MacFarlane in 1965 to reward outstanding commitment by a manager to a men’s team. 
The Donald Cameron Manager’s Award was given by Donald Cameron in 1981 to recognize the individual who so unselfishly gives his/her time to support a Mount Allison women’s team. 


The distinguished therapy award was presented to:

  • Tori McCarvell (football)


Team Rookies of the Year were:

  • Ryan Norris from Ottawa, ON (basketball)
  • Joshua Jennex from Halifax, NS (soccer)
  • Conor Culina from Oakville, ON (football)
  • Mike Ta from Hanoi, VN (badminton)
  • Ian Steinwall Pennington from Pickering, ON (swimming)
  • Alisha Donovan from Brockville, ON (hockey)
  • Riley Curry from Stittsville, ON (soccer)
  • Haley Hemphill from Woodstock, NB (basketball)
  • Mya Artibello from Antigonish, NS (volleyball)
  • Molly Peppard from Middleton, NS (badminton)
  • Allison Gauthier from Brandon, MB (swimming)

Most Valuable team members were:

  • Tim Ellison from Halifax, NS (basketball)
  • Jack Bennett from Falmouth, NS (soccer)
  • Daniel Bell from Saint John, NB (football)
  • Jacob Lamothe from Moncton, NB (badminton)
  • Sebastian Cariaga from Calgary AB (swimming)
  • Hanna Pagdato from Winnipeg, MB (hockey)
  • Hailey Frampton from Oshawa, ON (soccer)
  • Reese Nowlan from Miramichi, NB (basketball)
  • Brianna Warwick from Oxford, NS (badminton)
  • Jordan Thomas from Kirkland Lake, ON (swimming)
  • Chloe Nichols from White Rocks, NS (volleyball)


  • Team Managers for Football Mounties Simon Leblanc and James Wilmot
  • Assistant Coach for Badminton Mounties Mark White
  • Assistant Coach for Badminton and Soccer Mounties Jaryd Morrissey (‘17)
  • Host Committee for CCAA Men’s Basketball Nationals

Next Steps

Be part of Canada's best undergraduate university