Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs program provides funding in support of exceptional researchers at Canadian universities.

Mount Allison University Chairs work in the following areas of expertise:

Dr. Lauren Beck
Canada Research Chair in Intercultural Encounter

Dr. Claudine Bonner
Canada Research Chair in Racial Justice and African Diaspora Migration in Atlantic Canada

Dr. Douglas Campbell
Canada Research Chair in Phytoplankton Ecophysiology

Dr. Linda Pearse
Canada Research Chair in Music, Contact, and Conflict

Dr. Jill Rourke
Canada Research Chair in Cell Signalling and Pharmacology

Recruitment postings


Note that the results of the two internal nominations and one external nomination are currently embargoed and/or under review. 

Internal Chair Recruitment Postings

Mount Allison University recognizes the undeniable impact that career interruptions and personal circumstances (e.g., pregnancy, early childcare, eldercare, illness, etc.) can have on a candidate’s record of research achievement. Career interruptions will be taken into careful consideration during the assessment process.

Candidates who are more than 10 years from having earned their highest degree and who have had career breaks, such as maternity, parental, or extended sick leave, clinical training, etc. may have their eligibility for a Tier 2 Chair assessed through the program’s Tier 2 Justification process.

Mount Allison is committed to diversity and inclusiveness. We encourage applications from members of racialized communities, Indigenous persons, persons with disabilities, and persons of all sexual and gender identities. 

Accommodations are available upon request for all candidates taking part in all aspects of the selection process. To confidentially request accommodations, please contact Sabine Beisser, Interim Director of Human Resources, at

External Chair Recruitment Postings

Archived Chair Recruitment Postings

Third-term nominations

Tier 2 Chairs cannot be renewed for a third term, as per policy of the CRC program.

Although the CRC program permits renewals of Tier 1 Chairs for a third term in rare exceptional circumstances, it is Mount Allison’s present position that such renewals will not be considered.

Policy framework

All policies that govern the staffing of Canada Research Chair positions at Mount Allison University are administered by the Department of People and Culture and the university’s Collective Agreement with the Mount Allison Faculty Association. Additional information can be found within the labour relations and policies and procedures sections of our Leadership and governance webpage.

It is acknowledged that these policies may change over time in response to the action plan on equity, diversity, and inclusion. Below is the current utilization of available CRC allocations as well as Mount Allison's CRC EDI Target Setting Plan for 2021-2029.

For further information about the Canada Research Chairs program:

Equity, diversity, and inclusion in research

As reflected in our public endorsement of the Dimensions program charter principles, Mount Allison University is committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) related to the Canada Research Chairs Program and the broader research enterprise of the university.

Academic Chairs

Named academic chairs (or professorships) are intended to enhance the academic and research missions of the University.

Individuals appointed to a named chair, normally drawn from the academic staff of the University, shall develop, support, and enhance academic and research programs through their engagement in scholarly activities.

Mount Allison's current named Academic Chairs include:

For more information, see Policy 3006 — Policy on Named Chairs.