Academic advising is available to assist all new and returning students from year one to graduation.

Academic advising will help you develop education plans for achieving your goals. It includes:

  • receiving advice on academic matters
  • taking ownership of your education
  • making effective and informed decisions concerning your degree
  • connecting university experiences to personal, academic, and career goals
  • collaboration and partnership 

On this page

Students can get help planning their academics through:


      Academic advisors

      Our academic advisors can help you with program planning, degree requirements, or if you have questions or concerns about your academics.

      Some issues are easily resolved via e-mail while others may require a discussion in person. Remember, advisors will be very busy during peak periods (registration) so plan ahead and book an appointment early!

        Contact your academic advisor:

        • Email: advisor@mta.ca
        • Book an appointment (booking links available below)

        Sarah Cormier

        Areas: BComm and BSc
        Book an appointment with Sarah

        Stephanie Richard

        Areas: BA, BFA, BMus, and BASc
        Book an appointment with Stephanie

        What can my academic advisor help me with?

        Academic advisors can:

        • assist with course selection and registration
        • help interpret academic policies and procedures
        • help you consider options for major and minor programs
        • clarify degree and program requirements
        • assist with program planning and  tracking progress towards graduation
        • provide guidance in formulating and realizing academic goals
        • help you understand the consequences of academic decisions
        • respond to concerns related to academic performance and academic standing
        • answer your questions on academic matters and regulations
        • highlight important dates and deadlines
        • make referrals to appropriate resources
        When should I meet with an academic advisor?

        We suggest that you take the initiative to meet with an advisor at least once a year, and to seek advising when it is needed — whether you are struggling academically or not.

        Contact an academic advisor any time you have questions or concerns about academic matters. Some issues are easily resolved via e-mail while others may require a discussion in person.

        Students with a declared major or minor are strongly advised to consult with a program advisor prior to seeing an academic advisor.

         


        Program advisors

            Program advisors have particular expertise in their discipline and programs. Each academic department and program has a designated faculty member available to advise students.

            Contact your program advisor

            Once you've declared a major and minor, we strongly recommend you seek academic advising from a program advisor.

            We also recommend you consult with program advisors as you consider your choice of major or minor.

            Program advisors for 2023-2024 (effective July 1, 2023-June 30, 2024)

             

            Arts Programs Advisor
            Art History Dr. Anne Koval
            finearts@mta.ca
            Drama Studies Dr. Sarah Fanning
            drama@mta.ca
            English Dr. Janine Rogers
            english@mta.ca
            Fine Arts Prof. Leah Garnett
            finearts@mta.ca
            French Studies Dr. Kirsty Bell
            mll@mta.ca
            German Studies Dr. Renata Schellenberg
            mll@mta.ca
            Hispanic Studies Dr. Juan Carols Martinez
            mll@mta.ca
            Japanese Studies Dr. Akiko Yoshizawa
            Dr. Owen Griffiths
            mll@mta.ca
            Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Dr. Kirsty Bell
            mll@mta.ca
            Music Dr. Stephen Runge
            music@mta.ca
            Visual & Material Culture Studies Dr. Christina Ionescu
            cionescu@mta.ca

             

            Humanities Programs advisor
            American Studies TBD
            americanstudies@mta.ca
            Canadian Studies Dr. Andrew Nurse
            canadianstudies@mta.ca
            Classical Studies TBD
            classics@mta.ca
            Community Engaged Learning Dr. Fiona Black
            religion@mta.ca
            History Dr. William Lundell
            wlundell@mta.ca
            Indigenous Studies Dr. Karl Hele
            khele@mta.ca
            Philosophy Dr. Jane Dryden
            philosophy@mta.ca
            Religious Studies Dr. Fiona Black
            religion@mta.ca
            Women's and Gender Studies Dr. Krista Johnston
            krjohnston@mta.ca

             

            Social sciences Programs advisor
            Aviation (Commerce)          Susan Sparrow
                     ssparrow@mta.ca
            Canadian Public Policy

            Dr. Mario Levesque
            malevesque@mta.ca

            Commerce

            Dr. Carol Pomare
            commerce@mta.ca

            Economics

            Dr. Carla VanBeselaere
            economics@mta.ca

            Environmental Studies

            Dr. Brad Walters
            geography@mta.ca

            Geocomputing

            Dr. Dave Lieske
            geography@mta.ca

            Geography

            Dr. Dave Lieske
            geography@mta.ca

            Interdisciplinary Health Studies          Dr. Jane Dryden
                     jdryden@mta.ca
            International Economics and Business

            Dr. Carla VanBeselaere
            economics@mta.ca

            International Relations

            Dr. James Devine
            jtdevine@mta.ca

            Dr. Loralea Michaelis
            lmichaelis@mta.ca

            Mathematical Economics

            Dr. Carla VanBeselaere
            economics@mta.ca

            Philosophy, Politics, and Economics

            Politics Stream:      Dr. Dave Thomas
            Economics Stream: Dr. Stephen Law
            Philosophy Stream: Dr. Roopen Majitihia

            Inquiries:
            ​​​​​ppe@mta.ca
            ​​

            Political Science

            Dr. Loralea Michaelis
            lmichaelis@mta.ca

            Sociology

            Dr. Fabrizio Antonelli
            sociology@mta.ca

             

            Science programs advisors
            Aviation (Science) Fraser Turner
            aviation@mta.ca
            Biology Dr. Karen Crosby
            Dr. Diana Hamilton
            Dr. Douglas Campbell
            biology@mta.ca
            Biochemistry Dr. Tyson MacCormack
            chembiochem@mta.ca
            Chemistry Dr. Glen Briand
            chembiochem@mta.ca
            Cognitive Science Dr. Genevieve Desmarais
            psych@mta.ca
            Computer Science Dr. Laurie Ricker
            cs@mta.ca
            Data Science Dr. Geoffrey Cruttwell
            math@mta.ca
            Environmental Science Dr. Josh Kurek
            envsci@mta.ca
            Mathematics Dr. Mark Hamilton
            math@mta.ca
            Physics Dr. Ralf Bruening
            physics@mta.ca
            Psychology Dr. Genevieve Desmarais
            Dr. Alison O'Connor
            Dr. David Filice
            psych@mta.ca

             

            Certificates

            Arts Administration - TBD
            Biopsychology - Dr. Karen Crosby kcrobsy@mta.ca
            Canadian Arts and Culture -Dr. Andrew Nurse anurse@mta.ca
            Community Engaged Learning -Dr. Fiona Black fblack@mta.ca
            Data Analytics - Dr. M.E. Messinger mmessinger@mta.ca
            Data Management -Dr. M.E. Messinger mmessinger@mta.ca
            Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion -Dr. Erin Steuter esteuter@mta.ca
            Foundations of Health - Dr. Ardath Whynacht awhynacht@mta.ca
            Mi'kmaq Studies - TBD
            ​​​​Music Education - Dr. Stephen Runge srunge@mta.ca 
            Social Research Methodologies - Dr. Erin Steuter esteuter@mta.ca
            Studies of Indigenous History - TBD
            Theatre Arts - Dr. Sarah Fanning sfanning@mta.ca
            Visual Literacy and Culture - Dr. Christina Ionescu cionescu@mta.ca

            What questions can be directed to program advisors?
            • Honours programs
            • Independent studies
            • Research opportunities
            • Graduate/professional studies 
            • Program curriculum and course content
            • Academic requirements and course options for honours/major/minor programs
            • Program planning and course selection advice
            • Complementary courses for major/honours programs which must be chosen in consultation with the program advisor

            Contact your department head

            In some cases, the role of department head and program advisor may be filled by the same faculty member but this is not always the case.

            Department heads must approve the following:

            • Registering for a course without having the prerequisites
            Department heads and program coordinators

             

            Arts and humanities Dean: Dr. Rachel Rubin (Acting)
            American Studies TBD
             
            Canadian Studies Dr. Andrew Nurse (acting)
            anurse@mta.ca
            Classics TBD
             
            Drama Dr. Sarah Fanning (director)
            sfanning@mta.ca
            English Dr. Peter Brown
            pbrown@mta.ca
            Fine Arts Prof. Leah Garnett
            lgarnett@mta.ca
            History Dr. William Wilson
            wwilson@mta.ca
            Modern Languages and Literatures Dr. James Devine
            jtdevine@mta.ca
            Music Dr. Stephen Runge
            srunge@mta.ca
            Philosophy Dr. Roopen Majithia
            rmajithia@mta.ca
            Religious Studies Dr. Barb Clayton
            bclayton@mta.ca
            Visual and Material Culture Studies Dr. Christina Ionescu (director)
            cionescu@mta.ca
            Women's and Gender Studies Dr. Krista Johnston (director)
            krjohnston@mta.ca
            Social Sciences Dean: Dr. Jennifer Tomes (Acting)
            Commerce

            Dr. Carol Pomare
            cpomare@mta.ca

            Economics

            Dr. Carla VanBeselaere
            cvanbese@mta.ca

            Geography and Environment

            Dr. Brad Walters
            bwalters@mta.ca

            Interdisciplinary Health Studies          Dr. Jane Dryden (acting director)
                     jdryden@mta.ca 
            Philosophy, Politics, and Economics

            Dr. Dave Thomas 
            dthomas@mta.ca

            Politics and International Relations

            Dr. Loralee Michaelis
            lmichaelis@mta.ca

            Sociology

            Dr. Erin Steuter (acting)
            esteuter@mta.ca

            Science Dean: Dr. Jennifer Tomes 
            Biology Dr. Diana Hamilton
            dhamilton@mta.ca
            Chemistry and Biochemistry Dr. Vicki Meli
            vmeli@mta.ca
            Cognitive Science Dr. Genevieve Desmarais (coordinator)
            gdesmarais@mta.ca
            Mathematics and Computer Science Dr. Geoffrey Cruttwell
            gcruttwell@mta.ca
            Physics Dr. Ralf Bruening
            rbruening@mta.ca
            Psychology Dr. Gene Ouellette
            gouellette@mta.ca

             

             


            Career advisors

            To help you find your way from academic studies to a rewarding future, we provide group programs, individual career advising, and career resources.

            For more information, visit career planning and resources.